Maher Shalal Hash Baz - Faux Départ CD

Maher Shalal Hash Baz - Faux Départ CD

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Originally released as a limited edition souvenir of their 2003 west coast tour, Faux Départ remains one of the strongest releases in the Maher Shalal Hash Baz catalog. Recorded at Dub Narcotic with help from an all-star cast featuring Greg Saunier (Deerhoof) on synthesizer, Chris Cohen (ex-Deerhoof, Curtains) on guitar, Arrington De Dionyso (Old Time Relijun) on bass clarinet, McCloud Zicmuse (Le Ton Mité) on bassoon, and Andrew Maxwell (Open City) on drums, Faux Départ captures the Japanese shambolic-pop legends performing material inspired by the palm trees in L.A., seals & seagulls in Olympia, and the long trek up Route 5 as well as thunderstorms, clouds, wind, and lightning.Recommended for fans of the Raincoats, Belle & Sebastian, and Neutral Milk Hotel.

Alto Saxophone, Percussion – Takashi Ueno
Bass Clarinet – Arrington De Dionyso
Bass, Drums – Akiko Hotaka
Bassoon – McCloud Zicmuse
Drums – Andrew Maxwell
Drums, Percussion, Voice, Flute – Saya Ueno
Guitar – Chris Cohen
Sounds [Musings, Cantillations] – Tori Kudo
Sounds [Seal] – Endo
Synthesizer – Greg Saunier
Trumpet – Naoki Otani

Mixed and Mastered by Greg Saunier
Recorded at K, by Arrington De Dionyso
cover design – McCloud Zicmuse