Mincemeat Or Tenspeed - Strange Gods CD

On sale $4.95 USD

"I am absolutely loving the Mincemeat or Tenspeed ‘Green Velvet piercing Genesis P-Orridge’s face with poison switchblades’, but then how would I not?" 20jazzfunkgreats

Zum028 CD
Mincemeat Or Tenspeed - Strange Gods

"No synthesizers, samplers, sequencers, drum machines, computers, musical instruments." The liner notes for "Strange Gods."
Using solely effects pedals and a mixer, Harms started Mincemeat Or Tenspeed as a recording project that became a live entity in 2006. An initial attempt to learn guitar lead to a deeper interest in effects pedals to the point that the instrument was shunted altogether. The sound of the pedals themselves took precedence and Harms began making rhythmic and melodic adjustments out of a feedback circuit. Labor-intensive trial and error lead to a compositional approach that feels like pure improvisation.
The essence of this music is partly its means of production, though in a live setting the rhythmic throb has started plenty of moshpits. Having toured with modern music weirdos like Social Junk, Foot Village, and Drums Like Machine Guns (with whom he shares a split 12") and shared stages with Black Dice, Gang Gang Dance, Extreme Animals, and USAISAMONSTER over the past few years, Harms imbues Mincemeat Or Tenspeed with a hardcore work ethic that's earned him a cult following (Dan Deacon is a supporter and has booked Harms at Whartscape three years running). "Strange Gods" is an evolution of sorts, letting the tones ride our more than previous efforts, a continuation of a process begun with records like the "All Critters" 12" (Deathbomb Arc), or this year's double CDR "Manifest Wizard." As the first "official" Mincemeat Or Tenspeed CD release, the seven (and a half) tracks here set the bar for "maximal minimalism", post-apocalyptic chirps and whirrs shifting and coalescing, cresting and searching for catharsis where none may be coming. Reminiscent of "a smart ass take on Steve Reich" (Z Gun) or even the synth-scuzz of Mr. Brinkman, Mincemeat Or Tenspeed is keeping it real whilst making experimental music accessible by virtue of its simplicity.
Album artwork by Mark Price, edition of 1000 CDs, full color jewel case.

"Mincemeat Or Tenspeed’s live show seem to comprise of two equal parts, amazing skill and chaotic chance, which team together to create fascinating soundscapes." - Jason Glastetter, CMJ Blog

"Mincemeat or Tenspeed at first come off as a smart ass take on Steven Reich. However, as the needle grooves through, Mincemeat builds on the riff, shatters some rhythms, and shifts into new hooks. This is loud minimalism and full of all kinds of great ideas." - Scott Soriano, Z GUN

Strange Gods Track Listing
1. Hulot
2. Furious Styles
3. Throw Hands
4. Infinite Girlfriend
5. Points and Lines
6. Strange Gods
7. Padre Island (Colonization)